on my way to legendary.

I’m Going to Jail?

For the first time in months, I check my email address listed in the whois registry. Skimming through all the junk, I notice a title that catches my eye, Scams. And I open it (some info censored for privacy):

From: Chase ******* <*****.*******@kcsg.com>
To: *******@carlpei.com
Subject: Scams
Date: 18/01/08 17:37

I know you have been sending fake IRS emails and setup a fake IRS set to
collect my information such as SS number and credit card number. I have
reported you to the local authorities in Stockholm and they are on there
way to pick you up for fraud. Have fun in jail. Peace.


Chase *******
KCSG News, IT

At first, I thought this was some kind of prank. Then I remembered my web host mentioning to me over MSN, in a non-serious manner, that someone reported to him that one of my domains (aglocoearners.com) was used for phishing. I asked him if it was something I was responsible of doing, he said no. I was confused but had other things to do and didn’t think about it more.

I search for “aglocoearners.com” on Google and find that it indeed was used for phishing, and the fish was already published on the anti-phishing website Castle Cops. By now I started to panic.

Checking through my email, I found more messages of the same kind. I immediately called the Swedish Police, but unfortunately their IT department only works on weekdays, so I’ll have to call again tomorrow. I’ve also emailed GoDaddy and various other people.

aglocoearners.com was a domain I picked up back when AGLOCO was being hyped up by blogging gurus like John Chow. I was going to start a AGLOCO forum on the domain together with a friend who I no longer have contact with. It never happened, and the domain was idle. We both had FTP access to the server hosting the domain. I don’t think it was the friend who did this. It’s more likely that he saved the account details somewhere that was later stolen.

Additional Info:
- The phishing email was sent out at the 17th (3 days ago).
- The domain folder shows a CHMOD of 775, unchangeable.

Phishing Email Header: (from one of those emails I got)

Received: from mail.pegaprecision.com ([71.158.242.2]) by mail.decossas.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.1830);
Thu, 17 Jan 2008 06:14:50 -0600
Received: from User ([151.12.152.26]) by mail.pegaprecision.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959);
Thu, 17 Jan 2008 04:12:31 -0800
Reply-To: <no_reply@usa.gov>
From: "Internal Revenue Service U.S.A"<service@usa.gov>
Subject: Notice From IRS
Date: Thu, 17 Jan 2008 13.13.29 +0100
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html;
charset="Windows-1251"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2600.0000
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2600.0000
Bcc:
Return-Path: service@usa.gov
Message-ID: <JUPITERvmkBgAusejaa000027ef@mail.pegaprecision.com>
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 17 Jan 2008 12:12:31.0718 (UTC) FILETIME=[3C56B060:01C85902]
X-TM-AS-Product-Ver: SMEX-7.0.0.1345-5.0.1023-15672.002
X-TM-AS-Result: Yes-28.070100-8.000000-1

Any help is appreciated!

Currently, I’m still very confused about what to do and would appreciate if anyone knowledgeable in the field would give a few suggestions. It would be nice if you could link to this post hopefully to attract people who know what to do.

Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Reddit
  • Netscape
  • StumbleUpon

9 Responses to “I’m Going to Jail?”

  1. TheAnand Says:

    I thought you already were in jail… :lol: hence the break from blogging

    have fun…do they have Internet in there by chance??

  2. Carl Pei Says:

    :cry:

    I’m in trouble and you joke about it…

  3. TheAnand Says:

    No worries bro, good things happen to good people :wink: no fears. you will be fine. These kind of things keep happening, fortunately most people understand when you tell them the truth.

    you might want to get some advice from DP or some other forums for a quicker advice

  4. Steven Fergus Says:

    Hi Carl,

    It’s been a long time since I’ve been on here, how’re you?

    I’m slightly confused to what’s happening here. You’ve been accused of phishing? What exactly have you done for them to accuse you of such a thing?

  5. Carl Pei Says:

    Hi Steven - I’m alright. It seems someone hacked the server to access the FTP of one of my domains, uploaded a fake website to harvest sensitive information. People searched the whois and thought it was me.

  6. Steven Fergus Says:

    Oh right, that’s not good at all. So you’re getting the blame for this? Is there anyway they could track the hacker? I hope all goes well.

  7. Powerful posts - 21st Jan 08 Says:

    […] Pei - I’m going to Jail?  My friend Carl took a break from blogging, and has just got back into it. With his first post back, […]

  8. Ross Johnson Says:

    The same thing happened to me, but it was only ebay or paypal who contacted me. They knew someone had probably gained access to my hosting account.

    I just sent them all the files they uploaded and deleted it from my server, that was the last I heard of it

  9. CurlyBrace Says:

    Hi,

    I think the email was a little exagerated, don’t worry :)

    Though I am really scared at how they got into your domain…

Leave a Reply